An early look at the Kansas City Chiefs 2019 schedule

Football is on the way. The Kansas City Chiefs’ 2019 NFL schedule has officially been released.

The Chiefs play the fifth-toughest schedule in the league in 2019, according to CBS Sports (full rankings based upon 2018 win percentage)

The biggest game of the season is probably week 14. Patrick Mahomes will get another opportunity to beat Tom Brady and the Super Bowl champion New England Patriots in Week 14. Many thought that the Chiefs would face the Patriots on Sunday Night Football and watch the Patriots get their rings again but that game belongs to the Pittsburgh Steelers. Mahomes vs Brady III could have some serious playoff implications, especially if the Chiefs or Patriots get some competition in their respective divisions this year. While one might think that this game gets flexed, CBS and FOX own the right to protect five games apiece between Weeks 11 and 16. CBS will keep that game at its 3:25 p.m. Central start time.

Quick Thoughts

To no one’s surprise, the Chiefs once again get the maximum amount of primetime game possible.  They face the Colts on Week 5, the Broncos on Week 7, Green Bay on Week 8, the LA Chargers on Week 11 and the Chicago Bears on Week 16. This number could rise up to six via flex. It is surprising how the Chiefs have the league MVP and yet open the season on the road in Jacksonville. The home opener will not happen until Week 3, when the Chiefs take on Lamar Jackson and the Baltimore Ravens.

The Chiefs will also once again get a Monday Night game that is currently scheduled to be played in Mexico City. This time, it will be the Los Angeles Chargers. It will count as an away game for the Chiefs.

Here is the full Chiefs NFL schedule. The games marked with an * are subject to flexible scheduling.

2019 Regular Season Schedule

Sunday, Sept. 8 at noon — at Jacksonville Jaguars

Sunday, Sept. 15 at 3: 05 p.m. — at Oakland Raiders

Sunday, Sept. 22 at noon — Baltimore Ravens

Sunday, Sept. 29 at noon — at Detroit Lions (FOX)

*Sunday, Oct. 6 at 7:20 p.m. — Indianapolis Colts

*Sunday, Oct. 13 at noon — Houston Texans

Thursday, Oct. 17 at 7:20 p.m. — at Denver Broncos (FOX)

*Sunday, Oct. 27 at 7:20 p.m. — Green Bay Packers

*Sunday, Nov. 3 at noon — Minnesota Vikings (FOX)

*Sunday, Nov. 10 at noon — Tennessee Titans

Monday, Nov. 18 at 7:15 p.m. — at Los Angeles Chargers (in Mexico City)

Sunday, Nov. 24 — Bye Week

*Sunday, Dec. 1 at noon — Oakland Raiders

*Sunday, Dec. 8 at 3:25 p.m. at New England Patriots

*Sunday, Dec. 15 at noon — Denver Broncos

*Sunday, Dec. 22 at 7:20 p.m. — at Chicago Bears

*Sunday Dec. 29 at noon — Los Angeles Chargers

 

To

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s